Tuesday, February 14, 2017

The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancé. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.


4.5 Stars

A well-written story about friendship, love, heartbreak and finding yourself (with or without a man!). The Young Wives Club is a debut novel by Ms. Pennell and a fantastic read. It's about best girlfirends who have each other's back!

This book follows four best friends who recently graduated from high school from their small town of Toulouse, Louisiana. Each of these ladies followed their hearts and became young wives, but their lives were far from perfect. 
I felt connected with each of these characters and I couldn't get enough of their story. Laura, Madison, Gabrielle and Claire looked the part of having the perfect life to outsiders, but inside, these ladies where feeling the stress of being young and in love. Having the "perfect" marriage/relationship wasn't easy or what they expected it to be.

Laura and Claire's story really had me gasping and wanting more each chapter! Laura Landry married her high school sweetheart. The star quarterback who had dreams of making it to the pros and taking Laura along the ride. They were going to live the dream. But when he gets hurt and ends up sidelined for surgery, Brian and Laura dreams turned into just that...dreams that seem so far away. And Laura finds herself questioning her marriage and the direction of her life. This girl had so much potential, but instead of following her head, she followed her heart.  Honestly, I probably would of too.  

I was really invested in Laura and Brian's relationship. Also, with Claire and her husband, Gavin. I really wanted to believe his late nights at work was just that (no spoilers here!--and no there's really no cheating...), but Claire soon finds out that having the perfect marriage isn't what life is all about. Saying no and taking charge of her own life is what she needs to do. As for the rest of the girls in this book, it was entertaining with plenty of drama and angst. Each of these ladies found their own HEA--the way it was meant to be!

Overall, this book is empowering, charming and shows that you should following both your heart and head so you can live your life the way you want.

About the Author
Julie Pennell grew up in Shreveport, Louisiana, where she ate her weight in crawfish, used the word “y’all” a lot, and wrote a weekly “Teen Scene” column for the local paper. After graduating from college, she moved to New York to work at Seventeen magazine and later Alloy Entertainment as a digital editor. She lives in New York City with her husband and is a regular contributor to Teen Vogue, TODAY.com, and The NestThe Young Wives Club is her first novel.

Twitter: @juliepens
Instagram: @juliepens

No comments:

Post a Comment